T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone use this machine or know if it can be used to cut hartco sandblast and also the RDM-1 (or any type) of decal material?
I am just starting out and considering purchasing this machine and the funtime software. Any info is greatly appreciated.

April

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
I created a video showing that you can cut to a Silhouette from other software. While I use Funtime in the demo, you can design even more with KNK Studio GE and also cut to the Silh.

Rhinestone Patterns on a Silhouette

Sandy

·
Registered
78 Posts
I noticed that Specialty graphics is advertising a package that includes their own blade housing and blades for use with the Silhouette SD. For those that have used it, are the blades that come with the cutter sufficient to cut the vinyl for rhinestone? Are they the 60 degree blade that I see people posting that they use to cut with? Is there an advantage to using the blades advertised by Specialty Graphics? Here's the link to their offer - I'd appreciate any thoughts on th is!
Graphtec 8.5" Silhouette SD Vinyl Cutter + Blades & Holder

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
I was using the standard blade holder and blade that comes with the Silhouette in the video where I cut the Hartco 425... not even a 60 degree blade and it did a fine job of cutting the holes. I did use 2 passes, but I do that with every material I cut on any cutter! I call it "insurance!" :)

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
I noticed that Specialty graphics is advertising a package that includes their own blade housing and blades for use with the Silhouette SD. For those that have used it, are the blades that come with the cutter sufficient to cut the vinyl for rhinestone? Are they the 60 degree blade that I see people posting that they use to cut with? Is there an advantage to using the blades advertised by Specialty Graphics? Here's the link to their offer - I'd appreciate any thoughts on th is!