T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i dont know much about the heat press process. i have been doing screenprinting for 7 months now and business is REALLY picking up! i am having orders come in every now and then i dont want to do w/ the screenprinting system (names & numbers on the backs). the set up is a pain. i have a few questions.
1. are there economical presses that run well long term?
2. what is the process of how to do it? videos?
3. do i need a special printer and wht kind of special paper would i need?
4. ive seen companies that make your transfers and ship them to you. is that really worth while?
5. what other questions should i be asking?
i need direction! help!
thanks
brandon

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
In answer to your questions... I bought cheap presses and an expensive press. I haven't printed long enough with either of them to say which will hold up the best, but at least a cheap press can be replaced cheaply.

There are a lot of videos out there on how to do it. Conde has some on their website, youtube has a ton of them too. If you want to do just plain old heat transfers you won't need special ink or a special printer. I do sublimation so I have an Epson C88+ printer with sublimation dye in it and I have to use special sublimation paper and substrates.

I've never purchased transfers from anyone. They are expensive and most have to be purchased in a quantity. Plain transfers have a very heavy feel to them, but I guess some folks don't mind the feel.

And the bad part to heat transfers is that they can't be put on dark fabrics without special backing paper or a special heat transfer paper.

·
Registered
996 Posts
I go with Joto. If your looking for only one and maybe two color short runs, than vinyl is the way to go. Thing is your going to need a press and cutter. You can get a deal online sometimes and it depends on your budget.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Seeking wisdom and direction

Hi!