T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all!!... Sublimation newbie here. I've spent hours upon hours researching and reading forums on which printer/ink is best for sublimation. My products are going to be printed on poly/nylon/spandex garments. I have come across multiple threads that are against Sawgrass due to pricing and quality. I'm also not sure which printer I should go for :confused: I've seen many pros and cons for both Ricoh & Epson ink jets. Feeling a little overwhelmed with information. I can only afford a desktop printer at the moment so I'm in search for the best bang for my buck. Please PM me if you know of any inks other than Sawgrass, as I have noticed that no one speaks about that publicly :) And any information/tips in regards to the best desktop printer would be SO SO SO appreciated. THANK YOU!!!

· Registered
618 Posts
It depends on where you live in the world (which you haven't stated) as to what good inks are readily available, although generally, in the US there is Cobra and J-Tech, and in UK/Europe InkTec are brands to be searching for.
If wanting to go for non-Sawgrass inks, then you're best sticking with Epson printers, as the Ricohs use a slightly different ink ... I tried InkTec's sublimation ink in a Ricoh and the prints were blotchy/streaky.

· Registered
5 Posts
Hi Hergarden, I was going to post this up as a new topic but since your title is quite catchy I’ll put it here and hope we can all rub minds and help each other.

I have got an Epson 4880 Stylus Pro 8-colour printer which runs OEM inks at the moment, but i want to run dye sublimation inks through it to print on polyester, coated metal, ceramics and coated wood products.