T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently signed up for a wholesale account for Alstyle and they are asking me for a resale number. What the heck is that? I live in California, do I need a CA license number?

P.S. I know nothing about this. Please be as clear as possible. (noob here!)

· Registered
3,420 Posts
I recently signed up for a wholesale account for Alstyle and they are asking me for a resale number. What the heck is that? I live in California, do I need a CA license number?

P.S. I know nothing about this. Please be as clear as possible. (noob here!)
To buy at wholesale you need a resale license issued by your state (business license), some companies only sale at wholesale. That said, I assume you are a business?

Hope this helps.

· Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Business as in I buy in wholesale, print them, and sell to my customers? Yes.

But Business as in I opened a store to sell my clothes? No

I normally use Hanes but I want to use higher quality fabrics and use my own tags. Can I still appl for a resale number? If yes then how?

· Registered
1,027 Posts
You may be able to do this on line. Not sure about CA. It costs me $10 bucks a year and I have to file a quarterly tax form. Check on the CA web site for resale permit.

· Registered
10,343 Posts

· Registered
31 Posts

Great info Binki! Thanks!

Do I need a seller's permit if i'm operating online only? I didn't see that aspect covered? What's the difference between a seller's permit and a reseller's permit? Is there?

· Registered
1,559 Posts

Do I need a seller's permit if i'm operating online only? I didn't see that aspect covered? What's the difference between a seller's permit and a reseller's permit? Is there?
Yes you need one no matter where you are selling if you sell to people that need to pay sales tax.

The two terms are synonymous.

· Registered
10,343 Posts