T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I just bought a 6 color 1 station manual press and I'm having quite a bit of trouble with registration.
I've tried flashing before printing,pre-registering, choking the underbase, no warped screens, checked the tilt/off contact...

I'm using a 110mesh for the underbase with brand new screens. Any ideas on what could be causing this?
I am still learning so any help would be useful and appreciated.

· Registered
428 Posts
It may be the press itself , the cheap presses will flex and that will throw your registration off . Also check for any play with the platen . You will find where your problem is just needs some time to investigate where it is

· Registered
8,278 Posts
What brand press did you get. I can tell you when I first started I thought the press was to blame. Make sure your off contact is set correctly and when lowering the print arm make sure it hits the stop. Then there is making sure your using a consistent stroke. Also with a starter press setting up your artwork before going to press will help by creating traps, chokes, or spreads within the artwork.

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's a silver press, I thought I did alot of research when I bought it but I am seeing others having issues with the same things. I'd like to try everything I can before I have to admit it's the press and sell it.
How do I know if I am setting my off contact correctly? I've heard other using a penny to measure.

If it is the press is there anything I can do about the flex?

· Registered
428 Posts
It's a silver press, I thought I did alot of research when I bought it but I am seeing others having issues with the same things. I'd like to try everything I can before I have to admit it's the press and sell it.
How do I know if I am setting my off contact correctly? I've heard other using a penny to measure.