T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi. i'm fairly new to all of this. so far, i have tested the process using the following: (all homemade)

15x13 wooden frames
polyester/nylon fabric stretched
emulsion
speedball fabric ink
kitchen sink water sprayer
500 watt halogen construction style light
images printed on projector paper

while i've been fairly successful, i know there is a lot to work on. some questions i have:

(1) I've found that if I fail to rinse the ink off of the screen immediately after printing, it discolors the image (some ink seems to rest on the image). How can I make sure all of the ink washes out?

(2) How do I properly "set in" the ink without a fuse unit? dryer unit? Will it work (well) if I get a great iron and apply 3 minutes of heat after it dries? If I want to cure the shirt so I can lay down another color, do I need to buy some sort of heating unit? If so, what's my best option?

(3) The scoop coater? Highly recommended?

(4) Emulsion. Do you coat both sides? Necessary? If not, which side do you coat?

and, finally

(5) Pressure. When printing, what's your method? I've seen recommendations to "flood, then firmly sweep." How firmly?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I knew it... I do have one more question:

What do you use to stretch your fabric? How tight do I want it? Right now, I'm stretching and stapling with a staple gun, then applying a craft bond to seal it.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
(1) I've found that if I fail to rinse the ink off of the screen immediately after printing, it discolors the image (some ink seems to rest on the image). How can I make sure all of the ink washes out?