T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I just wanted to know if it is standard to put a 'copyright' type notice, albeit small, on each printed shirt? Or is that not necessary?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
Some people do it, most don't. As a customer it really, really annoys me (to the point that it will almost always stop me from buying a shirt if I notice in advance).

In my opinion it almost always gets in the way of the design.

If you really want to put a copyright notice on the shirt I would recommend putting it inside - either screenprint your own label, or get a woven one, with a copyright notice in it.

Not only do you not need to register a work to be protected by copyright (only to prove when you created it), it is my understanding you don't even need to display a copyright notice. Things are only in the public domain if they are explicitly released into it. That said, I am not a lawyer and could be wrong - so I'd look into that if it would affect you in any way.

Copyright notices on websites are harmless anyway, so I'd always include that in the footer (and a few other places, like the FAQ or contact page).

·
Registered
324 Posts
I also "think" that you don't need to register to be protected by copyright, I sure hope that is correct! But you could copyright each design - yes, who is going to spend that amount of money?

·
Premium Member
27,698 Posts
I also "think" that you don't need to register to be protected by copyright, I sure hope that is correct! But you could copyright each design - yes, who is going to spend that amount of money
It is true that as soon as you create an original work, it is protected by copyright.

The benefit of officially registering a copyrighted work is that you now have PROOF to show if someone does infringe on your original work.