T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to see how many others are making Chroma Luxe photo panels and what do you think of them.

I have been making some and i love the look of a good photo imprinted onto the metal gloss panels.
But the quality of the panels is so inconsistant from one to the next.

I have a good eye for this and see it right away even my wife sees it after a good look.

So far every single one i have has little problems in the surface of the panel.

I am also a photographer and i am used to high quality photo lab prints.
If i get a print with a problem in the surface we call the lab and they make a new one and sends it out next day shipping to us.

I want to sell a lot of metal prints to my customers but every metal panel has one or more of.

• Dings or small dents in it.
  • Scratches in the surface you can see even before imprinting and after it shows even more.
  • Small flakes of the white area that have come off and you can see the metal so that area will not imprint. You end up with a photo with a small metal flake showing in your image.
So how do you give a product like this to your customers?
What do you tell them when they say i love the metal print but can you make us one with out the dings in it.

This is also the same for the wood prints.
The wood shows a almost banding effect that is in the wood texture and some of the wood ones i have done have dirt flakes or something that will not wipe off that show in the photos. This is under the peal back layer.
I did a 11x14 last night and part of the panel would not even take the imprint it looks like the coating was not put on right all the way across the wood.

As for photos i can buy what is called matallic prints from my photo lab that look just like the metal prints and they will be ding free.
But i want to make my own prints and people do like the metal and i can make them for less myself.