T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I am new to screen printing nd honestly have been doing very well. I have been cruising along everything working great for the last 3 months. Now all of the sudden, I can't get my screen to expose. What I mean is, I expose it on my unit, then go to wash it out like always and it isn't washing out. Its like its all just still sticking to the back of it. If I take my finger to it, it will come/move around. Even on really big areas, it just hangs on to the edges? What would this be? I have tried increasing my exposer time and makeing less. Its not slimy at all, so it can't be under exposed? Would it be something in maybe me reclaiming? I have been reclaiming and reclaiming these screens?

·
Registered
2,910 Posts
Two things come to my mind.
First, are you using the same emulsion that you used three months back ?
If so, buy new.
Also, it sounds like you're not degreasing your screens. You need to do this EVERY time!

Screenprinting, like many things, requires a lot of practice and a big learning curve.
Stick with it.

ooh, also, make sure that your film positives have a really opaque black ink.
If it's transparent, you're not going to get a good exposure.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Okay, so I am new to screen printing nd honestly have been doing very well. I have been cruising along everything working great for the last 3 months. Now all of the sudden, I can't get my screen to expose. What I mean is, I expose it on my unit, then go to wash it out like always and it isn't washing out. Its like its all just still sticking to the back of it. If I take my finger to it, it will come/move around. Even on really big areas, it just hangs on to the edges? What would this be? I have tried increasing my exposer time and makeing less. Its not slimy at all, so it can't be under exposed? Would it be something in maybe me reclaiming? I have been reclaiming and reclaiming these screens?