T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.. Im new to screen printing.. just trying to learn by doing it just now.

Printed a few tshirts yesterday using plastisol inks.. put them under a spot dryer for a few mins took them home and washed them to see how they stand up.. some of the ink has came off leaving me with a distressed looking tshirt. Not what I was after.

Im trying to learn using plastisol inks.. want to get round to the waterbased inks so I get a soft to touch result. Problem is.. how do I stop the ink coming off in the wash?

Thanks

S

·
Registered
861 Posts
Sounds like you undercured. Plastisol ink needs to reach 320 degrees to be cured. Buy a temp gun to help you measure when the ink reaches the requires temp.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cheers. All the ink didnt come off.. the tshirt is lying flat.. and I dont want to over cure.

Im just starting out.. glad these were on my first few samples and not a big job.

Looking for a temp gun as we speak. Whats the temp range for water based inks.. have to get an extrctor fan in my studio as the fumes from the plastisol are a bit too much to take.

Cheers

·
Registered
612 Posts
Also, any Lowes/Homedepot/Harbor Freight, etc has them for around ~$30.

Curing temperature for waterbased is similar, but you also have to get all the water out...so it is basically the ink has to reach 300+ after you evaporate all the water.

If you are just looking for a soft touch, I would try adding some ink additives to the plastisol, specifically some curable reducer and some soft hand feel additive. You can get the final product to look and feel very similar to water based, without all the head-aches of water based ink. You can get both of these, along with instructions at Silk Screening Supplies, as well as just about every plastisol supplier.

Good luck!
Nick

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7