T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I'm new to all of this - so please bare with my newbie questions!

I'd really like to try screen printing with fiber reactive dyes - but I'd like to print on shirts that I've dyed myself with a fr dye.

So my question is.........if I've dyed a shirt with a fr dye - will I then be able to print on the same shirt with a different fr dye? My understanding of the dye is that it forms a covalent bond with the fibers - so would the dye from the printed image even bond?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
7 Posts
As a new member here I was surprised that a search for printing with fiber reactive dye shows little discussion in the past (as far as I can find.) I realize that this thread is somewhat dated, but the answer is YES, you can print with fiber reactive dye on fabric that has already been dyed (or tie-dyed.)
Working with dye is much more involved and potentially messy than more straight forward printing methods, and requires some dedicated equipment such as clothes washers and dryers. I would be happy to discuss this type of application with any interested members. Dan

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi Dan, I am new to the site, searching for more information about screening with FRDyes. Glad to find someone who understands the process! I am very much interested in discussing the process with you, does your offer still stand?
Thanks!
LT

·
Registered
7 Posts
Greetings LT. A couple of questions to begin – do you already have some familiarity with fiber reactive dye, and experience with screen printing? This would give me a basis to start our conversation.
I live on the east coast and get my dye, thickener and synthrapol from Pro-Chem; another good source (west coast) is Dharma Trading Co. I purchase fixer (soda ash) and salt (for dye bathing) from Agway.

·
Registered
2 Posts