T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been asked to price a job and although I have printed 3 color jobs in the past I'm not sure about this one. I am attaching a photo of part of the logo. The shirt will be a darker gray with red and black letters. The logo also has some white lines below the letters and a small drawing with red, white, and black. I think I will need to put a white underbase for the red to stand out against the dark gray. Please let me know if you agree. Also, when I print the red and black on top of the white, I will have a problem if the white shows between so how would be the best way to do this? You wouldn't put red under the entire layer of black to keep this from happening would you? Wouldn't that make the ink too thick?
Any help would be appreciated since I'm pretty new at this and hope to do it right the first time:confused:.

Attachments

· Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank's I really didn't want to do the white underbase. I'm give that a try with the red. Would you ever print the white topped by the red and then the black or would that make it too thick with ink? I've always wondered about that.

· Registered
910 Posts
No, you wouldn't underbase the black portion of the design, just the red if you choose to go that route, with this design, I would just print/flash/print the red.

If you had needed to underbase the red, you would have choked the white half a point, and stroked the red half a point, with proper registration you would not have a problem with the white peeking out. The black would be printed without underbase.

· Registered
40 Posts