T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Ive got an order of about 70 pique shirts that the client wants screen printed. they wanted to go with the cheaper way over embroidery.

Anyways, its a two color print (white underbase, navy outline). The trouble is that i print the white, flash it, print it again and then hit it with navy. After curing it in my dryer, the navy seems to want to flack off if i put my fingernail to it. What is the issue here? am I not allowing the print to cure long enough? The white layer seems to be alot thick then what it normally would be on a regular cotton t. This is my first time with pique so any advice would help. thanks!

· Registered
2,028 Posts
Could be due to the cure temp not being correct, but my guess would be that you are flashing at to high of a temp. If your flash actually starts curing the ink then the top layer will not stick.

What temp are you curing and flashing at?

I just did 150 polos where I printed a white underbase, flashed, printed white, flashed, printed red. Had no issue with peeling.

· Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i run the shirts through the dryer at 305 for like 30 seconds or so. that may not be right tho. my thermostat is wack on my dryer. i always do a stretch test on the shirts when they come out to see if they are cured. in this case they were passing but still felt a bit gooey-er than normal.

· Registered
2,028 Posts
Need to run to your local hardware store and get a digital temp gun...

Your ink brand will tell you what temp to cure at, but I am sure that is fine if you are getting in that range.

I still think that it has to do with your flash temp.

· Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
sounds like you are doing a print, flash, print, print

try print, flash, print, flash, print