T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all professional screen printers, I am hoping someone here can help me figure out want i need to start screen printing t-shirts.I'm just starting out in the business I purchased a heat press and vinyl cutter and was thinking of buying the ryonet 6 color 2 station silverpress with the micro registration package which comes with flash dryer and exposure unit and a bunch of other stuff to get started but i was wondering if i have to buy one of those special printers with all black ink and special accurip software which i know nothing about and looks complicated. Right now I have 13" x 19" HP B8550 inkjet printer and I'm using coreldraw x4, will I be able to print films with this set up or nothing at all. I don't know much about screen printing at all so I'm not sure what halftones are or that rip software does I was thinking i could just make designs with coreldraw using the pantone colors and just click the enable color separations button and it would automatically print each color in black ink. PLEASE HELP.Thanks Phil H and sorry for the long post

·
Registered
6,328 Posts
You might half to use two film sheets, but otherwise should work fine. We use a few printers, and just double the sheets for inkjets.

Also, you can buy a Laser for a couple hundred bucks. If you buy the Silver, ask if they have a Laser in the Package. Some vendors sell printers too, especially dye sub suppliers.

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
go into your setting and change your paper setting to premium photo paper and your blacks should print out pretty dark..have done that on my epson 1100 also did it on my epson and did it with my epson 1280 before it finally stopped working and have no problems burning screens. (I'm to (broke/cheap to pay $700 for rip software)

·
Registered
1,949 Posts