T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a beginner at screen printing and am currently laying orange plastisol ink on different colored shirts. I started with darkish-brown shirts and they came out ok but I noticed that it seemed like not enough ink was passing through to make a thick layer. I then moved on to white shirts and changed nothing about my setup or process and they all turned out amazing - very nice thick layer of ink on all of them. After I finished those I moved on to my black colored shirt (again not changing anything about my setup or the way I was doing anything) and they looked even worse than the brown shirts. For some reason it seems as though more ink is being applied on the lighter colored shirts even though im not changing anything.

The shirts are all made out of the same material (50/50 blend) and I have already added reducer to the ink to make it easier for it to pass through the screen (110 mesh). I have even messed around with the off-contact and nothing seems to help - it seems like its purely the color of the shirt thats making the final result bad. Has anyone had this same issue or perhaps know what else I could try to solve it? Thank you so much!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There's a reason painters use white canvas for their creations. It creates the truest, most vibrant image.

Same with plastisol. If you are not getting the results you want, start with a white canvas; lay down a white ink underbase.