T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to transfers I do do screen printing and I was wondering how do you charge for transfers I know shirt price plus transfer price but what price do you charge to press the shirts with the transfer is there a formula or what like I try and stay close to my screen press price but it seems like it comes out a bit higher please let me know

·
Registered
721 Posts
If I'm providing the shirt, and the transfer, then pressing the design is built into the final price.

I look at:

I take the COST OF THE SHIRT X 2.5 + $1 + COST OF PAPER + COST OF INK + $6 for labor.

This would be the minimum I would charge for a shirt.

Other factors that come into play are:

Is it the customers design or am I doing design work?

If it's the customers design, how much time will I have to spend making their artwork functional?

Do I have to scan their work?

In other words, there is no single formula. You need to consider every piece of the project...not just the materials.

·
Registered
721 Posts
You must be pricing one-off inkjet transfers. How do you calculate the cost of the ink?
Yea...that's actually a general rule of thumb for small quantities.

I calculate the cost of ink by getting a general idea of how many pages I can print per cartridge. For example, if my black cartridge will yield 480 pages, and my color cartridge will yeild 330 pages, I take the average of the 2 numbers...so I figure my yield is about 400 pages per set of cartridges.

Divide the cost of the ink by the yield, and you have a cost per page for ink.

I multiply that cost figure by 2.5 to account for the other various costs of printing -- the cost of equipment, electricity, etc.

It's a small number...about 25 cents per page, but it's cost that should be included in your cost of goods sold.

·
Registered
293 Posts