T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been doing my research and getting ready to print some designs.. im a newbie in the biz by the way.. :) I was looking at sublimation/screenprinting services and I was able to contact a few printers from different areas and some of them provided quotes pretty quickly. Some of them though are asking for jpegs of my designs before they can even give me a quote...is this pretty normal? I mean it took me a great deal to find my graphic designers and seems like I don't want to give out my designs to every printer that I contact...nowadays, someone can easily trace a jpeg ....or maybe I am just being paranoid that my designs are gonna end up getting copied???? :) for our more experienced folks here in the forum, what has been your experience so far??

·
Registered
295 Posts
Well, for my DTG I ask to see the artwork first.. am I going to do one pass or two? Is the job going to be two sided? And if so, is it two full sized or one full sized and one small sized.. and then the double / single pass thing comes into play.

For my silk screening, when using transfers.. I need to see the artwork as well, am I going to be better off using gangs and if so.. what sizes and how can I position them to save money? Also, for my contract silk screening someone can say yeah.. its a one color deal.. and then I'll have to tell them.. okay great, but for hot pink to show on that black shirt.. it needs a white underbase, so two colors.

Just because I'm asking to see your design, doesn't mean i'm gong to copy it :) Maybe you could supply a low res jpg to them and just let them know you do have a high res file. :)

·
Registered
56 Posts
DTG on darks I definitely need to see the design. I can give a ball park but no final price without seeing it. Screen printing is a little easier but still seeing the artwork is always a safe way to go.