T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to all this. I have an embroidery business but want to add a new side - such as t shirt printing. I just want to start small for now but obviously want a technique with decent quality but something I can do from home without buying too many pieces of equipment. Is there a technique where I can start with my own PC, either my printer or get an Epson that I am reading about, get a heat press, get some transfer paper, print the design in my own printer and heat press it on the t shirt? Again, with decent quality. If so, is this called Heat transfer, or is it with vinyl or what? If you all feel there is a way can you tell me what kind of printer, what kind of ink, what kind of paper, what software for a PC, and then a heat press recommendation please? and any thoughts or suggestions. Thanks so much! kelly

·
Registered
4,074 Posts
If I may make a suggestion, you'll be way ahead of the game and make more money if you form a relationship with someone who prints shirts but doesn't do embroidery. Sell each other your work low enough to mark up. Then you each can focus on what you know best while also acting as a salesperson for the other.

To answer your question, what you describe is often sold as digital printing or digital transfers. You buy one of the recommended papers such as JPSS, print on it with one of the recommended printers, like an Epson C120, and press it on the shirt with one of the recommended presses (Hix, Hotronix/Phoenix, Mighty) There are literally hundreds of threads that describe the process and answer your questions. What I suggest is that after reading some, ask more specific questions that are more easily answered.

You can also heat press shirts with vinyl or plastisol transfers. Someone was working on a chart that detailed the pros and cons of each process but I'm afraid I didn't bookmark it.

·
Premium Member
7,661 Posts