T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time with photo emulsion. I let it dry under a fan for three hours then set a 300watt bulb with a reflector on it on top of my screen and image under a piece of glass 18-22 inches high. I went to wash it out with warm water and it was going fine but then all the emulsion around it started washing out too. I was able to clear the whole screen of photo emulsion. At least I can start over.

Does this mean I have to leave it under longer or did I not let it sit to dry long enough?

·
Registered
315 Posts
A lot of factors determine whether or not the emulsion was dry. Time is one but mostly it's the humidity. When I printed out of a shop in my basement my humidity was horrible and I couldn't get it below 50%. In my new shop I keep a constant 35% in my darkroom and emulsion dries in a couple of hours (I still prefer to let freshly coated screens sit over night). So your screens were probably dry if you didn't notice the emulsion being slimy or tacky.

It's most likely not enough exposure time.

Mitchell - Star Designs
Sent from my iPhone using TShirtForums app

·
Registered
26 Posts
This is my first time with photo emulsion. I let it dry under a fan for three hours then set a 300watt bulb with a reflector on it on top of my screen and image under a piece of glass 18-22 inches high. I went to wash it out with warm water and it was going fine but then all the emulsion around it started washing out too. I was able to clear the whole screen of photo emulsion. At least I can start over.

Does this mean I have to leave it under longer or did I not let it sit to dry long enough?
how long did you have it under the bulb for? 300 watt is pretty low.

i always wash out with cold water too. how high did you have the pressure? even fully dryed emulsion can be blasted away with a powerful enough jetwash.

did you degrease the screen before applying the emulsion?

·
Registered