T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a fabric artist and seamstress but I don't have the money to go out and get a heat press. I've done screen printing by hand the old fashioned way one hand made screen at a time and I've also done just direct to garment hand painting but as you can imagine the work involved means there is no real profit, especially when a lot of jobs are custom done for just one to a few people not 100s of the same design.

I was wondering if there is any company that can print on clothing that you supply to them as well as the designs and it would be just one thing at a time here and there? I know...that's sorta asking a lot I guess but I was just curious if there are any companies that would do one off specialty jobs. I'm also located in Arkansas so finding someone locally...might be near impossible.

You see, I design and often sew my own clothing and then I custom dye most of my items in both silk and cotton but sometimes people want special designs on them which I have no problem designing but I have no way to get it onto the garment unless I hand paint it....again...time consuming and any profit I would make goes bye bye.

People don't really want to pay for my time to paint their child's name and a cute little character on a baby's romper for example. Also, doing it myself and using an iron on transfer printed off my computer and ink jet is not an option...those are less than professional looking and it takes away from the overall quality of the rest of the handmade and hand dyed garment in most cases. Maybe I'm too picky? But as an artist quality is important to me, the only problem...being an artist...I don't have money to burn to buy everything I need straight away. I had been saving for a heat press actually but recently a home repair emergency wiped out that little fund. :(