T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello ladies and gents,
I'm new to the t-shirt biz but let me first point out that this is more of a hobby and at the moment have no interest in starting a t-shirt business. I've gotten most of my info from this site but now that I’ve actually purchased everything I’ve ran into a few problems so I have a couple of questions.
My setup,
-sunie heat press 16x24
-Epson 1400 using dye ink
-Transfer paper (Jpss/3G Jet Opaque Heat Transfer)

1. I've notice when pressing big images more ink gets pulled up on the back of the paper from the part of the shirt that is more towards the edge of the press. This would happen when using jpss transfer paper.
2. Since the pressure gauge is manual how do I determine if I’m using the right amount of pressure? I've read a good test to do would be to use a piece of paper and make sure it doesn't slide out.
3. Which brings me to me next question. Which one is more crucial, heat or pressure? I'm sure there must be a balance of both but if I’m off let’s say 5-10 degrees hotter than I should be compare to not enough pressure, which one would affect the shirt more?
4. What would be the best programs to use when doing tile printing? I’ve used illustrator but the images never line up properly. Is it due to my settings or is there a better program out there that you’re able to calibrate how you want the paper set up so you don't run into this issue?

4. About how long should you wait to peal the paper backing off jpss paper after you just pressed it? So far I’ve tried to pull it off right away so this might also be one of the reasons why there’s a noticeable amount of ink on the backin of the paper?
5. And just any tips in general

Appreciate any info you guys can help out with.

·
Registered
869 Posts