T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I have an understanding of what halftones are after several videos etc. Looks like some cool design and effects with this process. I am still kind aof lost but Im learning daily :0)

Can someone tell me what software I need for the halftones to be printed? I see some 500 dollar ones and Im just lookign to try this process out, if I likeit Ill buy the expensive software. Which leads me to my questions,

1. what software is everyone using? is there an opensource?
2. Does it always have to be an add on like to Photoshop etc or is there standalone software?
3. If i import say a color logo in, will it just auto out the separations also?

thanks greatly for any help given to a total newbie coming from the sign side.

Markus

· Registered
4,694 Posts
There are a lot of ways to approach this. The best will depend on what you have now and what you want to do.

What software do you use to make your art now?

You might want to start simple and convert a grayscale image to a black and white halftone. That's a good way to learn the basics of dot gain, screen angle, and LPI. CorelDraw (and others) can do that without anything additional.

For color halftones and more complex images, there are ways to do it "by hand" in some programs, but you may prefer a helpful tool. I use SimpleSeps Raster and SimpleSeps SmartRIP, which are add-ons for CorelDraw. The combined feature set is good, and I consider the price to be reasonable.

I'm not familiar with what is available for Adobe products.

· Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks you for responding.

As I am coming from the sign and vinyl side, I use Flexisign Pro for 95% and illustrator for 5%-- lol, mainly for opening ai files and getting them to Flexi

No corel draw tho :0(
I also have GIMP installed but havent used it much.