T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first, hello to all!! i am extremely excited i stumbled onto this site!! ok, let's move on.

i am VERY new to the t shirt industry. i am interested in putting WHITE text on DARK colored tees. nothing fancy, just some slightly off-color humor in simple fonts--no pictures or graphics whatsoever. problem is--where do i start? i'm starting to see that opaque transfers are out. i guess plastisol is an option (do i just take my text to a graphic designer and have them print the sentences on the paper?? i'm guessing i can't do this with an ink jet at home since white ink is sorta nowhere to be found). or should i look into screening (the thought of messy inks is driving me nuts)? who knew so many decisions had to be made to get "WWJD for a klondike bar" on a blue tee.

any and all info would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
You have some options:
- Plasticol transfers
- Vinyl Cutter
- Screen Printing
- air brush
- stencils

...but mainly the first three (screen printing, plasticol, or vinyl)

If you are just doing text t-shirts, dont hire a graphic designer. Buy illustrator or corel draw, and just type the text on there. That is all a graphic designer would do.

·
Registered
180 Posts
My designs are all text and I am using Corel Draw. I first got the 30 day trial versions of Photoshop and Corel. I ended up buying Corel. I am going to start using plastisol transfers soon.

jdr8271 said:
You have some options:
- Plasticol transfers
- Vinyl Cutter
- Screen Printing
- air brush
- stencils

...but mainly the first three (screen printing, plasticol, or vinyl)

If you are just doing text t-shirts, dont hire a graphic designer. Buy illustrator or corel draw, and just type the text on there. That is all a graphic designer would do.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks guys! so, next question...