T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks. I'm new to heat transfer printing and am having some trouble with my setup. Currently I'm using an Epson 7010 with stock inks and TransferJet inkjet paper. The problem that I'm having is the colors are coming out terrible on the shirts and I notice that there is a lot of yellow color on the transfer paper when it's removed.

What am I doing wrong here??

·
Registered
1,925 Posts
I don't think the 7010 comes with the proper ink for transfers. Transfers require pigment ink. Most Epsons have it but not all.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using T-Shirt Forums

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well it's called "TransferJet". I've tried a few different settings on the print side and have messed around with the heat and duration as well. For some reason the color just doesn't come out worth a damn.

·
Registered
1,925 Posts
Actually, some inks will have a color shift, even pigment when pressed & it's usually yellow. I'm fairly certain that's the issue. I believe there's actually specific transfer ink that will not shift when pressed. Personally, I'm not certain the shift affects the colors enough to be noticeable, other than to those who already know the difference. I believe durabrite inks are known for this issue.

·
Registered
677 Posts
Hopefully, the Printer Scientists in the group will help you out. I'll ask one more question, though. What are your printer settings?

I found (on two printers), that things worked out well using the Epson default settings. I have yellow on my paper after pressing, but the color (including yellow) has been fine. I'm probably not very helpful, but at least I've given your post a bump!

·
Registered
775 Posts