T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the design and t-shirt industry. I have been playing around with Photoshop for a while and I enjoy it. I would like to start a dj/beatmaker culture t-shirt brand catering to the urban streetwear scene and im wondering if I should focus more on getting in depth with Photoshop or Illustrator first. Let me know your opinions. I already have some experience with Photoshop but I am pretty new with Illustrator.

· Registered
1,318 Posts
since you already know some about PS. start using AI..but jump between both so you don't loose your touch on either..well that is what i do..it is always a struggle but my chair is on wheels and i just push myself way when ever i feel overwhelmed and need a break.

· Registered
5,758 Posts
Photoshop is not a vector based program..

I suggest you design in Illustrator (vector program) then you can save images to be viewed in Photoshop.

I tell my customers photoshop is for viewing while illustrator is for designing. I have several photoshop'd files that look great on the screen but once printed not so good because they are bitmaps or jpegs

· Registered
1,533 Posts
Your going to need both if you want to do whatever you want in screen printing. Since you are familiar with PS spend the time to get that familiar with Illy. My father learned 4 languages while on the run as a war refugee and would tell me as he was teaching me how to do something " It is a temptation when first learning a language to say what you know, instead of saying what you want". You sound like a capable person, learn to say what you want to. :)

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·