T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - I'm new to heat transfer and have a question, I have been reading all the forums and I'm finding alot of information everyone here has been very helpful! :D my question is concerning my Epson 1280 Printer, people on this forum say I need to buy pigmented based ink, but on Epson's web site, it says the photo ink (dye based) works great on heat transfers, I have tried some of these and washed it, no fading, looks as bright as when I first pressed the shirt. I am going to do some more testing... but guess I'm not understanding why I have to use pigment type inks? any help would be appreciated!
Thanks
Jai

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
Try printing with dye-based inks on to a shirt, and then soaking the shirt in water and folding it on to itself. This is a bleed test; if the ink runs after being soaked like that for a while, they may run for your customers.

In general, pigmented inks are chosen because they will not bleed when washed, and I believe they usually stay brighter and more vibrant on shirts as well.

·
Registered
4,766 Posts