T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and have a question concerning sublimation inks, pigment inks, and printers.

I am interested in creating articles using both the sublimation method and heat transfer method. Will I need two separate printers for this or is it possible to just switch out inks? Also, in your honest opinions, what has proved to be the most reliable Epson printer thus far?

I have my press, but deciding on a printer has truly been the most daunting task for me. Based on what I would like to do I know I would need to invest in a printer that would allow me to sublimate, but I need to know if I should invest in two printers or one at the present, since I'm just starting my business.

· Registered
1,435 Posts
Switching out inks is not advised. Sublimation isn't very profitable unless using a bulk fed system on the epsons. Carts generally contain about 10 milliliters of ink, and I believe they generally cost around $20 each ($2/milliliter). Sublimation ink in bulk is generally about $120 for 110 milliliters, roughly about a buck a milliliter, half the cost. Now you might be saying "I can just mark my product up a bit more", but the problem is, the two inks, Pigment and Sublimation, are not really compatible with each other. You will need an ICC profile for sublimation ink to get it to work right, as well as messing around with the print driver (switching default paper types, mirror'ing the image, etc). You would also need to purge the head of any leftover ink of the other kind in order to get a good print, which will require a cleaning cycle or two, which generally goes through quite a bit of ink itself.