T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to place some pre-cut letters and numbers on a few jerseys. These jerseys are like the practice baseball type (cotton not mesh). The vinyl letters and numbers came with my press that I bought used. The letter/number set is from Stahls. Letters are 3" tall and the numbers are 8 1/2" tall. I have a few questions...

#1) What is the best vertical placement of the names? 3" from the collar? 2" from the collar?...

#2) How far down from the name should the number go? 1", 2"...

3#) What is the best way to make the name have a slight arc to? Should I get some type of vinyl tape to place the letters on in reverse and then lay the whole piece on the shirt and press? What is this "tape" called and where can I get it? Is there a tool to layout the arc for the name?

3#4) How long, what temp, and what pressure should I use to press everything?

I'm new to pressing names and numbers, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Tim

·
Registered
8 Posts
The majority of the customizations I do are names&numbers. Though I make the vinyl transfers myself.

I normally go 3" from the colar for the top of the name and I'd say 2" between the name and the number. Though I normally just eyeball it to see what looks balanced. (Though for reference my numbers are between 4"-6" high, names between 1"-2" high)

But I'm working with a different animal than most people because I need to meet WFTDA roller derby guidelines for minimum required number size.

·
Registered
6,008 Posts
You wont need magic mask for this,your heat press vinyl has a Mylar baking. You cut the design in reverse(mirrored) and then press it on the garment. ... JB

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Actually, the vinyl letters do not have any backing on them at all. They are a pre-cut set from Stahls. The set came in a box with several of each letter and number.

·
Registered
6,008 Posts