T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm new to the screen printing business. I have a question about exposure of artwork to screen. I've included a picture and wanted to know if the image not being dark enough is the reason why it wont wash out. Please help I've followed all instructions and when Im washing out I can see it and it breaks down but all emulsion wont come out but the image is perfectly visible .

Attachments

· Registered
91 Posts
Hard to be sure looking at the Positive photo you posted.
Not the worst I've seen... not the Best, either but,
should be working okay provided a few other issues are sorted.

What Emulsion & Exposure Setup are you using?
Though my Positives Print nice & solid, I use fast
Ulano QTX and have burn times in the 2:45 minute
range for 0ne coat each side halftone screens (200 mesh).

What I'm trying to say is, with fast emulsion & (correct)
short exposure times, wash out should be a breeze.

Have you done Step Exposure Tests to sort out your times?
(Perhaps you are just over-exposing?)

A little more info would help.

edit: Looking again at your posted image, lack of a good, solid Positive
could easily be the main cause of your washout issues.

· Registered
3,145 Posts
Is that a picture of your film? It's not dark enough. You need to experiment with your printer settings to get a dense black print that light doesn't show through. Use the black cartridge only and set your ink volume to the maximum. Paper type should be transparency. All printers have different settings so you'll need to find the one that works best for yours.

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·