T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new in this tshirt business and needed help with some questions. I have already read through a lot of threads and still had some questions that I could not find answers to. I would greatly appreciate if some one can respond.

1. I started into this business few weeks ago. Hence, do I need to go through the "cafe press, zazzle etc route to begin with? If yes, what kind of sales do I need to see before I jump into contacting retailers and wholesalers?

2. If that is not required, then I would like to focus on retailers/wholesalers right away. I have my designs but was not sure how many designs is enough to start selling to a retailer or wholesaler? Also do I need to have samples of all my designs or one is enough. Will retailers look at photographs of designs and make out an order?

3. Some of threads spoke about using a sales rep for sell products. From what I understand sales rep take 15% commision. Is that commision for the first order only or for every repeat order that I would get from the buyer? I am assuming that is something that needs to be negotiated while making our contract. What is the industry trend for something like that?

Again, thank you so much in advance for responding to my questions. It is greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
do I need to go through the "cafe press, zazzle etc route to begin with?
No.

I have my designs but was not sure how many designs is enough to start selling to a retailer or wholesaler?
One if it's the right design. Preferably more like 4-6.

Also do I need to have samples of all my designs or one is enough.
You'll need at least one finished sample that shows fabric quality, print quality, finishing, etc. But if your prints aren't significantly different (e.g. all pigment prints, not one discharge, one dye, one foil, etc.) it shouldn't really matter.