T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
Got 2 big trucks to letter tomorrow. Don't have electricity access where they are at. Have one semi that needs old lettering removed.

What is the best way without using a heat gun? I have Rapid Tac remover but have never used it before and from what it says on the bottle it is just for removing adhesive.

What can I do to keep from having to scrape it all off with plastic razor blades?

As you can tell I'm new to removing old lettering. What little I've done has just been easy to do with heat and razor blades.

HELP PLEASE!!!!
Thanks!
Craig

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Butane torch, be careful with it, but it's the portable heat gun. If you lack a good hardware supply store, I know some auto stores carry em (used to work at a Checkers/Schucks/Kragen and we had em on hand in the tools section bottom shelf, most likely where you'll find it).

I've seen the ads for all the different kinds of removers and crap, but never heard anything decent about them. You may want to research some threads at Signs 101 Home - Signs 101 the people there aren't the greatest sometimes, but the information is valuable. I personally haven't had good luck with the plastic razor blades, seemed to take a lot of work to get them under. I use a regular razor blade instead now, and a lil chisler for smaller letters.

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Joe,
Thanks for the quick response. Yeah, I'd thought about the torch, just kinda unnerves me a little to use one. Have one already and will take it with me tomorrow. Just doesn't have the trigger. Strictly light with flame. Makes it kinda rough for this type work.

Thanks!
Craig

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Ha signs 101 ah got banned twice there... good info jerk people