T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a complete newbie here but I have been lurking for a while and learning what I can.
Recently my wife and I teamed up with a friend to start a printing comany but we are still learning the ropes.

Currently I am trying to replicate a design for a customer that has a gradient in it. I would like to provide the same product they are used to getting but I am having trouble figuring out how I can print the design so it is exposed correctly on the screens.

I linked a picture to what the final product should look like.

I am using Illustrator currently and I print using color seperation to a PS file then use ghostview to print that PS file.
The image in Illustrator looks exactly like the final product you see in my link.

I have read on this forum about using halftones, and looked through all the tutorials here that I could find on how to accomplish color blends. But it doesn't look like halftones were used for this design. I could be completly wrong.

We are really pressed for time to get these shirts done soon. Any help is extreemly apprecieated. If someone is possibly open to contacting me to help me walk through this processes that would be fantastic.

Thanks!

Final product
http://home.surewest.net/hordy/blend.JPG

·
Registered
24 Posts
Your correct in that this is not done with halftones. This is a two color job with one color actually being two colors of ink. We call it a flood technique. The block would be one screen, load the screen with yellow and pink and pull the squeegee. As the ink mixes together they blend and form a third color. Each shirt will be unique. The legs will be the second screen.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I thought about that too, but looking at the shirts they did not seam to each be unique, they all looked spot on.

If this is truely done this way that makes my life a lot easier.

Please if anyone else has ideas let me know.

·