T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 30' Pontoon Boat with horrible, old, peeling vinyl graphics. Would I be better off buying my own cutter or paying someone to replace them ? Figure #1 is my boat. Figure #2 is the graphics that I would like on my boat. Anyone with a ball-park cost of having it done vs. buying my own ?

Attachments

· Registered
185 Posts
Hi, I am not an expert for sure but here's my 2 cents... it looks like it would be a bit expensive to have someone cut and install this for you. I would buy my own cutter and do it myself if I was you. This way you can always have the ability to fix old vinyl or create great graphics for projects in the future.
If you want to get a real side by side comparison do this, call five places and get quotes from each and get the average, then find a nice entry level cutter capable of doing what you want, then price the vinyl and consider your time as well and see which is really more cost effective for you.
If putting decals on stuff is your thing then definatly get a cutter!
Hope this helps.

· Registered
2,135 Posts
A couple things come to mind, first would be does Tracker offer the replacement graphics like the ones you want to install on your boat?

2nd would be that because of the length of the vinyl on the sides a cheap cutter is going to have problems being constant cutting a 8-12' piece of vinyl without messing up, the front graphics would be a easy task for any cutter.

3rd would be have you ever applied vinyl before? while it looks easy enough there is a learning curve, most boats require marine grade vinyl and removal and cleaning prior to installing the new graphics is very important for the vinyl to last, only other thing is that cheap calendered vinyl will fade in just a couple seasons without some sort of UV protection.

Just a few things to consider.

Hope this helps.

· Registered
30 Posts