11 Posts
Hello, I am just starting out and I am going to buy a

heat press. I don't have that much money right now to

spend on a press but I have managed to find 2 heat

presses in my price range. They may not be the best

but it will only be temporary until I can make enough

money to buy a better one. They are both on Ebay and I

am torn between the two. Please take a look and let me

know your opinion as to which one I should buy!

Press #1

Press #2

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
I would not buy either one. I would spend the money upfront to buy a decent press. Don't get anything less than a 15x15. I have the Stahls Might Press 15x15 and am very happy with it.

Just my 2 cents worth

·
Registered
302 Posts
I agree with tcrowder on this one. He said two important things that many people here have stressed in the past: 1.) buy a quality press from the get go and 2.) avoid getting anything less than a 15x15.

You may have success with one of the presses you see but often people regret not buying a quality piece of equipment to start.

I know said you don't have the money right now... then wait! What's the rush? Start the right way. Simply save up till you can buy something decent and then start. Don't start the wrong way.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Hi,

I agree with everyone. Irregardless of the low price, after your first few weeks of using it, you'll wish you waited until you could get a 15x15" flat heat press.

I started heat transfer printing (sublimation) in August 1987 and spend a whole $295 for a National Screen 15x15" flat heat press. I still use it and it has not given me any problems.

Please remember that the only piece of equipment that will make your investment in is a heat press. The problem with purchasing an inexpensive heat press is, you do not have the large platen area to clamp down onto your products. The larger the surface area (15x15" as an example), will produce a consistently high quality imprint.