T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is some art I created with the client, we set up a cool new shirt full-back for him and I used exact-mathematical color-separations of the Red, Medium-Grey, and Underbase White, applied some general spot-variation response curves because of how I was running films and screens and printing it... 3 screens / colors total on black shirts.

The image shown below, is the first print after registration and setup on a pellon and then doing one on a shirt with the reg marks, taped off the reg marks and printed this, but not part of the order yet. Going in today in a bit to print the run, may need to tweak registration a hair still and get it filling in a bit more, as I tweaked for dot-response then it is set to print better with multiple-hits of the colors.

This is my first time actually doing my own manual screenprinting at a screenprint company after 10 years of graphics, art, pre-press and color-separation experience at many shops small and large. Taking everything I knew going in, having about a month of regular jobs and about 2 or 3 multi-color spot-color and single-color halftone prints... I felt confident to take some art like this to the next level and try printing it manually, a high-end simulated-process/halftone blend photo-realistic style, and pushing myself to do it right and get a great print out of it... this is the real fun as an artist and printing professional to bring my own designs to life myself now throughout the whole process, but this is my first time taking my own kind of high-end art like this and separations and going past the film-output stage into making the screens and all the way to setup and print... but with a month and a half in some experience manual printing already and being comfortable with some of the variables and methods I'm learning and experiencing on the physical side, I went ahead with it, and I'm impressed and satisfied a little bit at