T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
I wondered about that too. I thought it had to do with the winter Olympics, but actually it's about a skit they had on Saturday Night Live. Read more here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/More_cowbell
I didn't think the skit was funny at all. I thought it was just average for SNL, but a lot of people seem to think it's great for some bizarre reason.

·
Registered
249 Posts
That skit was hilarious to me... then again I am a musician of nearly 20 years. It's a great commentary on musicians, producers, cowbell and bands of the 70s.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Here's the scoop - it was voted the #1 funniest SNL skit of all time around a year ago. that's what started the hype.....

·
Premium Member
27,698 Posts
You know, before this thread I had seen over a dozen "More Cowbell" t-shirts but had no idea what the heck the craze was about either.

Thanks for posting the question, johnsmith. This was one of those "common things I wanna know, but was afraid to ask" :)

Just watched the skit for the first time today via the wikipedia link posted by Quickne$$ (thanks).

·
Premium Member
27,698 Posts
Rusty Waters said:
you never saw the more cowbell skit?
Not before yesterday.

Then again, I haven't watch SNL regularly for a long while now.

Maybe I'll give it a Tivo thumbs up to see if I can catch any episodes.

·
Registered
249 Posts
I think a lot of people thought SNL stopped being funny when Dana Carvey and Phil Hartman left the show. Granted, those years were better by a mile than most of the 70's, but nothing compares to the Will Ferrell era. Looks like Chris Parnell is the new savior of SNL... The Chronic-what-cles of Naria!

·
Registered
63 Posts