T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found a Mighty Press on Craigslist for $150, though it is from 1994. Does anyone have any suggestions here on whether this is a good buy or not? He said it is in good working condition. It is advertised as a 16x24, but from what i've seen, the largest size made is a 16x20. Here are a few pictures of it:

I dont have the intention of making a high volume of shirts. I am just starting out, but I do not want to sacrifice much quality in the shirts I produce.

·
Registered
985 Posts
I would buy it. $150 is not too much to risk on it.
I don't know if there are parts still available for it. But I think you can call the manufacturer and ask.
Good luck.

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
If everything looks good and it works it does not sound bad. If you have a infared thermometer I would test the platen. Check it in multiple locations to make sure it works fine. Temp should be even across the whole plate.

Have you called Stahls to ask if the lifetime warranty on the platen is still good?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What key parts typically go bad on these and require replacing? Is it easy to replace the parts by one's self without much heat press knowledge?

·
Registered
985 Posts
What key parts typically go bad on these and require replacing? Is it easy to replace the parts by one's self without much heat press knowledge?
I should say the heating element is the one.
I don't know how easy is open the press. Never had one of those.
If you look at it, what do you see holding the parts together? rivets, screws?

·
Registered
6,875 Posts