T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just some quick background, I've been screen printing for 4 years. Started out with a wooden press I built. Then a silver press. And 1 week ago I received my M&R SideWinder 6/6 with airlocks.

Right off the bat, I start registering a 5 color job.. Very close lines, very high detail, and more than half the colors have either a border or touch another color perfectly flush which makes it hard to adjust. I've spent more than 6 hours trying to register and I'm just having trouble!

First off I didn't know that micro reg doesn't have forward-backward movement down the platen.. Why? I really hate trying to move both the knobs the same way trying to get it to move perfectly higher or lower.

This is my first time having micro on my own press. What should I do? 6 hours is too long for adjusting and I'm still not done!

I might need to invent a 4 axis micro....

Don't get me wrong, I love the new press all in all but I can't figure out how to efficiently micro adjust!

· Registered
1,387 Posts
We use a Vastex VRS. m&R has the tri-loc. It holds the screen while you tighen the air or manual clamps. When the clamps hit, they tend to nudge the screen, so securing it while doing the clamping helps. Our anatol has air, with a manual clamp that you tighten before hitting the air.
Could be loose screens as well.

We also ck the art work targets if we have major ag. Occasionally the printer will put the film thru skewed just a little.

I feel your pain.

· Registered
2,132 Posts