T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
EDIT: If this should be in the equipment subforum, I apologize. I'm trying to delete this post and move it over there, but I have no idea how to do so.

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to the world of screen printing. Been looking around the boards a little but I figured it would be best to ask about my specific design before I bought/tried anything.

Basically I'm trying to print a few shirts for my friends and I. I haven't had too much luck with heat transfers. The shirts are going to have stills from movies on them; based on information I've found on here, I'm guessing that making the image a halftone would be the best course of action.

For the first print I came up with this:

http://i934.photobucket.com/albums/ad184/EdwardBenedetto/Screenshot2010-04-30at91251PM.png

300 dpi, 35 lpi. Some threads I've checked say that I could most likely get by with a 110 mesh, some say like...280? I've only screened very simple images before and I'm very confused as to how to determine mesh count needed. I'm going to be using generic fabric printing ink that I got at a local art store and hand screening them if it makes any sort of difference.

Could I go 110, maybe a little higher, or do I have to go into the 300 range?

·
Premium Member
4,202 Posts