T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know jack about HTML and design so I wanted something I could have set up and then could manage on my own with just a few addons and what not. Has anyone used the open source CMS Mambo or its predecessor Joomla?

·
Registered
402 Posts
I know a couple of people who use it and seem to rant about it. It is one of the popular ones out there. I have zero experience with it myself all my stuff is bespoke.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I know quite a bit about mambo / joomla

First off you have it in reverse the project started as mambo, then after an extensive misrepresentation, people going different direction, copyrights etc.(long story)
the team of developers that worked on mambo split and created joomla

and I’m all for it, they way I see it joomla / mambo can do anything you need it too
(with a little imagination)

there are also many more CMS projects like that I’d say the best way to find what you’re looking for is to try them out, most provide working online demos so you can have a peek at their capabilities you can try opensourceCMS.com they have quite a few demos available in one place plus lots of useful information.

·
Premium Member
27,700 Posts
Mambo/Joomla might be a bit overkill for an ecommerce store.

I would check out a free shopping cart that you can install and manage, like cubecart.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
so is the cubecart just shopping cart software you integrate into an existing page or will it function as the actual webpage in whole and allow ecommerce?

i'm looking at the site but can't ascertain

·
Registered
29 Posts