T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I believe I lost a customer because of the price a quoted, Customer needed 45-50 shirts with designs on front rather large and back. one color ink only and on neon green shirt. The price I quote was $8 ea. shirt
Normally I charge $8 for white shirts and $10 for color ones.
Was I too expensive?
He claim to have somebody that makes 3 color shirts for $5.80 a shirt, and he was expecting to be charged $5 for one color.
I'm new at pricing, I've been making shirts as a hobby for my kids and friends, but also like to be profitable if I do it for somebody else.
Any suggestions on how to price right?

· Registered
468 Posts
I'm currently only a garage printer with hope to some day take things to the next level and quit my crappy day job and print shirts full time. I'm not the most experienced but I will offer my 2 cents.

First off there seems to always be someone who charges less.

Many customers will try to get you to come down in your price as a matter of their personal business practices.

I need to charge a decent amount of money for the service I am trying to offer in order for it to be worth my time an effort.

Charge what you feel you need to in order to make a good profit and if the customer says no than he says no.
If I can come down a bit and I feel it might give me future business than I will but so far when I have done that and the customer does return they expect the same thing next time even if my original quote was on the low side.

If he can get them so much cheaper some where else then why isn't he. I'd say let him go and he'll be happy and you won't have to work for $8 an hour.

I just did a one color job for a friend mind you and it was black ink on a white shirt, two sides, 50 shirts. I charged $7.50 ea. I felt I was giving her a deal and would have charged at least $8 to the general public. So I think your price is very reasonable, at least for where I live.