T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, brand new on here - have just posted over in the introductions thread - and just looking for general advice on...well, everything really!

My question is pretty all encompassing, but pretty vague i.e. I just don't really know where to start, and I HAVE searched around these forums at length previously, on many occasions, but am so completely new to this, and following days/weeks of Google searching and worrying, am probably suffering a little from information overload at the moment, so thought I'd just post my own specific question, if that's ok :)

So, aside from making a couple of vests/customising a couple of tees a few years ago, I've never made/designed t-shirts before, but it's something I'm serious about, and also something I've looked into over the years, but have finally got to a point where I'm ready to do it. ( I have been making fine art for several years, so am not entirely new to that area of things, but this is a whole new ball game, isn't it!? )

Basically, I wish to - as a tentative starting point - buy around 15 t-shirts, and heavily customise them i.e. cutting into, sewing, embellishing, and also print/paint onto/dye them. In an ideal world - or when I gain more experience - I'd like to make from scratch, but for now, I'd like to buy from a company like AmericanApparel, as I'm wanting a fashionable-fit, quality tee. (Am also entirely overloaded with tee info, and am unsure what type/material/weight etc would best suit my needs, OR where would be best to buy, but that's another thing)
To stop this becoming a mammoth essay, I wonder if the best thing for me to do would be to upload some of my recent designs, and perhaps peeps could take a look, and give me a little direction i.e. What methods they would choose to bring the designs to life? That would be great, anyway.

Here are a couple of v rough sketches: