T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

The manager of a local Pizza shop, which belongs to a national-chain, asked me to embroider polo shirts for him. Is there any legal issues here? Do I need to get some "authorization" from the chain? and what kind, if any, document (or contract) do I need from the manager?

Thanks!

Mike

·
Registered
1,502 Posts
Mike, I'm not a lawyer but if your doing it for a franchisee 20 - 30 shirts there not going to come after you. I know its hard to believe but there's not really a fashion police.
John

·
Premium Member
5,953 Posts
I would absolutely make sure you have the correct permissions to print a protected logo. If it is a franchise, sometimes there is an agreement in the franchise to have a certain company provide promotional items. It could get you into trouble without the permission needed. Remember we can only give you advice here, as we are not lawyers :) but I would make sure they have the right to have that image printed to protect yourself. It shouldnt be difficult for them to show you that :)

·
Premium Member
7,661 Posts
Hey Mike,

The following info is pulled from an article by the SBA. I am only supplying the info as an aid to help you get closer to your answer. This is not an actual answer, and I did not sleep in a Holiday Inn Express last night. Lol.

I'll give you a link to the page, and I am going to bold the part that seems to apply to your question. This article is to help a business person decide if they want to go into a franchise. One of the questions relates to your own question.

Reading below, it seems whether or not the Pizza place must buy from a particular supplier, or are able to contract their own suppliers will vary according to their particular contract with the franchiser.

The answer, it seems, will be in the contract between the Pizza place and the franchiser.