T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've posted a few threads regarding issues with inks and washability with my dtg prints. I am new to it all so it is taking a lot of figuring out, the issue is I don't seem top be making any progress, just washing t shirts and ink.

A few washes and the inks are cracking perpendicular to the cotton grain. If stretched at all....they crack easily running with the cotton grain fibres (vertically) Is this normal? I have plastisol ink transfers and the inks hard and much, much more resistant to cracking when stretched, and also resistant to being scraped with a fingernail.

My question is, how durable are water based inks meant to be with dtg machines? I can scrape at the ink with my nail and it doesn't seem to take a lot to scratch it off. I don't know if this is indicative of an issue with the process, or this is just how they are.

My cousins been doing dtg prints for me and I've compared a few test prints I have done to his, and mine inks seem softer. Some seem better than others.

A common suggestion was I was putting too much pretreat down, But I have a resolute r treat machine and have tried everything from 70% speed to 100% and it's no different. I literally cant put any less on a shirt than the speed on 100%.

The nozzle puts down a heavy spraying of pretreat in the middle, more than the outer edges, so there is around 2 inches where the amount of pretreat that is being applied is less. Resolute said this is fine as it will still be putting enough down. They said it will put more down in the centre than the outer edges.

I am getting very frustrated.