T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been selling at the local market for about 2 months now and I've noticed that I get a lot of families who'd love to buy T-shirts for their kids (not to mention, my bright colorful designs tend to attract a lot of kids). This has me thinking seriously of starting a kid's line. I'd love to do this, but the CPSIA law that takes effect next year has me worried that I'd have to get each batch of kid's T-shirts tested (unless the screen printer does this, but I doubt they do) in order to comply with the law, which would likely make it too expensive for me to sell kid's T-shirts.

Anybody else dealing with this right now or have any advice? It's kind of sad, since I'm not a big importer who gets stuff made in China with lead paint; in fact, one of the major components of my line is that all of my shirts are made ethically in the USA and printed locally in Illinois.

·
Registered
23 Posts
The SGIA has been doing a lot of work on behalf of the industry to get the CPSC to review the requirements. There really are 2 parts of this. A tracking label and the actual testing. The blank manufacturers insert a tracking label at this time in the blank garments and maintain a databse linking these tracking labels back to all the necessary information related to the date, place and lot numbers of the production of the blanks.