T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How is it the I have one page on my site with a shirt that says I think I just sharted and I get more search engine hits from people searching for the term sharted. Meanwhile I have the keywords "offensive shirts" one nearly every page on my store and I don't get a single hit from those keywords. When I type in "sharted" in google I come up in the top 5. When I type in "offensive shirts" I am no where to be found.

While I am fairly new to ecommerce and whole search engine rank game, it blows my mind that a niche like "sharted" is supplying the majority of my search engine referrals and a fairly common search like "offensive shirts" turns up nothing on Dicktees.net.

Someone please enlighten me.

ps: I have read most of the google optimization lit online.

·
Registered
36 Posts
I'd say that far, far more sites are competing for the words "offensive shirts". They're just blowing you out of the water - a lot of smart people are trying to figure out how to increase their search engine placement for that phrase. You have a lot less smart people competing with you for "Sharted" :).

I just glanced at the source for your page and I was happy to see you're using alt text on the graphics, or at least on some of them. Having the word "Sharted" there helps a lot on a page with so little actual text, which is true of most of our store pages. Slipping a little "offensive shirt" alt text here and there might help you with the other phrase, too. In fact, since your header graphics don't seem to have alt text - and since they're at the top of the page, which is considered significant - you might think about adding "offensive shirts", or whatever, as the alt text for one of those images.