T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting into the cutting business (Been doing DTG, signs, banners for a couple of years.) I bought a used Ioline I/S60 vinyl cutter for a decent price but I've never really got it to work that awesome.

It has an old parallel interface which is tied to a serial port on my computer. When I originally called Ioline they told me I would have to use the Ioline control center and open it up via the .plt files in it to send the job to the cutter. So I import my .eps into corel, align it, and then save it as a .plt file.

If I do a 5X5 cut with a simple graphic it will mis cut at least 1 or 2 small areas (i.e. cut somewhere it shouldn't or cut something improperly to where when you weed it is slightly out of place). I don't think its the vinyl because I've tried both 3M and Avery heavy duty vinyl. I've bought new blades, done calibrations found in the service manual but still it has a problem tracking.

Anyone have any ideas? In the future we hope to use this for rhinestone templates, heat transfers, basic vinyl cutting, etc.

· Registered
996 Posts
It sounds like you could have the business to support a new cutter. I would look at the Roland or Graphtec. My Graphtec is the base for what I do and has already paid for itself and then some. Well worth the outlay.

· Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It sounds like you could have the business to support a new cutter. I would look at the Roland or Graphtec. My Graphtec is the base for what I do and has already paid for itself and then some. Well worth the outlay.
Only thing that scares me about a new cutter is the rhinestone software people scared me saying that certain brands can't cut a complete circle... Does that make any sense?

· Registered
890 Posts