T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm very new to this but have found soo much helpful information here. Anyway, just a couple of quick qestions....I'm looking at different companies to buy my blanks from. I keep seeing 5.5 oz and 6 oz etc, etc T-shirts. Can someone please help explain the difference in quality of these shirts and is 100 % preshrunk any better (or worse) than 50/50? What are ya'lls preferences and/or have worked well for you? Also, researching the different types of software and am leaning towards Corel. My husband has a buddy that does metal fabrication and such that uses Flexi 8.5. Anyone ever heard of this or use it? How well would it work for us, if at all? Thanks in advance!:)

· Registered
1,930 Posts
Re: Just a couple of quick questions

I keep seeing 5.5 oz and 6 oz etc, etc T-shirts. Can someone please help explain the difference in quality of these shirts
The quality will depend on the brand you buy. The only difference between 5.5 oz and 6 oz is the weight ... 5.5 oz is a little lighter.

and is 100 % preshrunk any better (or worse) than 50/50? What are ya'lls preferences and/or have worked well for you?
That's just personal preference but I prefer 100% preshrunk. Your method of decoration will help determine which is best. Are you heat pressing using transfer paper? Some people prefer the 50/50 because the threads lay down better after peeling, making the print appear more vivid.

Also, researching the different types of software and am leaning towards Corel. My husband has a buddy that does metal fabrication and such that uses Flexi 8.5. Anyone ever heard of this or use it? How well would it work for us, if at all? Thanks in advance!:)
Can't help you there ... I use Illustrator. :)

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

The quality will depend on the brand you buy. The only difference between 5.5 oz and 6 oz is the weight ... 5.5 oz is a little lighter.