T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again ... I was wondering what all different uses there were for the cutter/plotters as far as producing shirts and other imprintable items.
I would like to look into one for custome lettering and text, but I was wondering if there were more uses for the item than just for text ?
I'm very new to this kind of item right now, but I am looking for any way to expand our business to make more different, unique, and personalized items.
Thanks for all your time and any input or opinions would be greatly appreciated !!!
:D

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
Certain brands of vinyl cutters can be used for many things. The primary use of vinyl cutters are/were making signs and vehicles graphics. However, with the use of a heat press, a vinyl cutter can now be used for cutting text and logos out of heat transfer vinyl for applying onto shirts. In addition to this, some cutters offer an optic eye feature that can be used for cutting around pre-printed transfers & stickers. This means that you can print out full color images on an inkjet printer or large format printer and then feed them throught the cutter to be trimmed around instead of having to use scissors or an exacto knife. Another use of a vinyl cutter with a sewing/embroidery machine is to cut twill and make applique. Some cutters can cut fabric like this to be stitched down to a garment.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK, so if I planned on using a cutter/plotter for text and for trimming transfers, I would be best to find a size on the cutter that matches the maximum width I can print transfers at ... I am not currenctly printing my own transfers yet, but I planned on picking up a large format printer (Epson 1280) and I believe the maximum width for the printer is 13 inches, so I would be OK with, say, a 15 inch wide cutter plotter with the photo eye for trimming ?
If this is right, any suggestions on brands to look at ?