T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to this, and was just wondering if I could get as much advise as possible on which inks to buy.

I will be screen printing/stencil printing single colours on 100% cotton T-Shirts. I need high opacity inks as I will be printing on dark and black shirts (aswell as light shirts).

I do not want to use inks that need heat oven type treatment...

But I do need very durable high quality prints.

What are the main types of ink and which is best for me?
Also can you recomend any brands or places to order from online. (I'm in Australia)

Thanks heaps for any help,

Jasper

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I think that I might also need inks that will be easy to work with/apply. Cheers

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
For starters, all inks need to be cured one way or another. You don't necessarily need to use an oven, but you will need something.

The main thing you need to decide is whether you want to use waterbased or plastisol inks. Waterbased can be cured with a hand iron (not recommended, but possible - it works, but it's a pain), plastisol can't. Plastisol inks are very opaque, waterbased inks less so (there are opaque inks, but they're not as solid as plastisol). Waterbased inks dry out in the screen if you don't print quickly enough, plastisol doesn't dry until it's heat set (which is a mixed blessing). Plastisol is probably easier to work with, but harder to clean up if you have a small home based setup.

Both are best cured in an oven. Failing that, plastisol can be fully cured with a flash dryer, and waterbased inks can be cured with a heat press (or iron).

Durability shouldn't be an issue with either ink type, so long as they're properly printed and cured. Both print fine on 100% cotton.

The majority of home printers use waterbased inks, and the majority of commercial printers use plastisol inks (there are exceptions in both directions, obviously).